Harris Named Region 10 Superintendent of the Year

HarrisDESOTO, TX – Region 10 Education Service Center is proud to announce the selection of Dr. David Harris of DeSoto ISD as the Regional Superintendent of the Year.
“Year in and year out, the selection committee finds that evaluating all of our contenders for this honor is extremely difficult, and no less so this year in light of the distinguished field placed before them,” says Region 10 Executive Director Gordon Taylor. “The fact that David’s work for DeSoto has been singled out for special recognition says a great deal about him. We congratulate him for the difference he’s making in the lives of DeSoto ISD students.”
Since 1984, the Texas Association of School Boards’ Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award program has honored outstanding Texas educators for achievement and excellence in public school administration.
Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their school districts, commitment to public support and involvement in education, and ability to build good employee relations among teachers and staff members.
Region 10 SOTY Selection Committee Chair David Foerch credits Dr. Harris for going above and beyond for his district.
“David’s implementation of DeSoto ISD’s City of Education program targeting special student populations is to be commended,” says Foerch. “We’re also impressed that he has secured important federal grants and maintained an easy, collaborative working relationship with DeSoto ISD’s board over the past year. His is the kind of leadership we’re pleased to highlight.”
“I share this honor with the devoted men and women I work alongside every day, as well as with all those who have supported me and demonstrated their strong leadership skills through the years,” says Dr. Harris.
Dr. Harris joins honorees from the state’s 19 other regional education service centers as contenders for recognition as the Texas Superintendent of the Year. The state SOTY selection committee will meet in August with their award to be presented later in the year.