Election Results

by Scott Hansen

DUNCANVILLE, TX – Joint elections, held May 9th in Dallas and surrounding cities, saw a dismal 6.74% turnout overall, with some of the Best Southwest districts showing a 10-20% turnout, and one Duncanville district with a 20-30% turnout. (source: www.dallascountyvotes.org)
Here are the results by city:

Cedar Hill

Incumbent Jamie McCain (73.36%) wins a second term in city council Place 1, handily defeating challenger Mike Mathews (26.64%)
Chris Parvin (65.36%), Place 4 incumbent and Mayor Pro Tem fends off Shirley Ann Daniels (34.64%) to keep his seat.

Cedar Hill ISD

Robert Riggs (62.98%) wins the three way race for Cedar Hill ISD Trustee Place 6, defeating opponents Ken Frazier (17.49%) and Dawn Miller (19.53%).
Cheryl Wesley (78.08%) earns a decisive win against Ramona ‘Dionne’ Ross-Bacon (21.92%) to take ISD Trustee Place 7

Dr. Stephen Jones (46.60%) lost his bid to oust incumbent Patrick Harvey (53.40%) for the city council At-Large position.

Newcomer Dennis Schwartz (58.71%) defeated former councilman Don Freeman (41.29%) for the District 1 seat. Both ran to fill the vacancy left by Cliff Boyd.
Leslie Thomas (51.85%) regained her District 3 seat from incumbent Stan Smith (48.15%), who had taken the seat from Thomas in the previous election.
Johnette Jameson (54.94%) returns to her District 5 seat, defeating challenger Michael Miner (45.06%).

Duncanville ISD

In the Duncanville ISD Board of Trustees race, Desiree Hall (42.91%) lost her bid to unseat incumbent Janice Savage-Martin (57.09%) from Place 6, while Incumbent and board secretary Carla Fahey (100%) ran unopposed and retains Place 7.


Incumbent Marcus Knight (62.20%) easily wins re-election as Mayor of Lancaster, fending off three challengers, Carolyn Ann Morris (20.14%), Clyde Hairston (15.66%) and Chassity Freeny (1.99%).

Lancaster ISD

Marion Hamilton (66.13%) wins two-thirds of the vote against opponent Gwen Perry (33.87%) for the Lancaster ISD District 1 seat, while Cynthia Corbin-Jarvis (62.63%) defeats challenger Karon Hill (37.37%) to win the District 2 seat.

The big vote on the ISD’s mind was the Prop $125,900,000 Bond, which the voters overwhelmingly approved with (72.72%) for and (27.28%) against.


In DeSoto, all incumbents ran unopposed, and no elections were held.