Duncanville High School Student Scores Historic Win at Youth and Government State Conference

DHS historicDUNCANVILLE, TX – It has never happened in the 70 years of Youth and Government (YAG) competition in the state of Texas. Never before has a YAG governor been elected with such a majority that it did not require a runoff. At the state conference Saturday night, Duncanville High School junior Sharif Long won the governorship by a landslide with 76-percent of the vote.
The team from Duncanville High School also won Premier Delegation – the top honor awarded to schools based on their overall performance from the beginning of school to the state competition. It includes criteria such as: following the proper Code of Conduct and following dress code at all events and competitions, meeting all deadlines and participation in multiple competing categories.
“I am so proud of these young ladies and young men,” said YAG sponsor Dianne Williams. “Their dedication to Youth and Government gives me hope for the future of our government and I am blessed to have the opportunity to work with such amazing kids.”
Six members of the team also received individual awards including five Distinguished Delegate awards and one award for Outstanding Bill. Two of the team’s media students were recognized for their accomplishments. Karxyiah Ashley had her entire article published on the YAG organization’s website and Emily Alfaro’s work was posted on YAG’s Twitter feed.

Sharif Long – Governor
Kennedi Ford – Distinguished Delegate
Julia Bowers – Distinguished Delegate
Sebastian Caballes- Distinguished Delegate
Naomi Sanchez – Distinguished Delegate
Richel Murata- Outstanding Club Delegate
Julia Bowers – Outstanding Bill