DeSoto ISD Celebrates October as Principals Month

principalsDESOTO, TX – Texas Governor Greg Abbott proclaimed October 2015 as Principals Month, and DeSoto ISD – along with organizations nationwide – is joining this effort to show appreciation for the district’s campus leaders.
Principals and assistant principals are vital to the success of all students, which is key to campus and district success. The key to a great school is a great principal. Their leadership inspires teachers to achieve excellence in their classrooms, provides students access to a high-quality education and operate a safe and well-run school.
“Our principals are the backbone of each campus, the model of accelerated expectations for their staff and students,” said Dr. David Harris, Superintendent of Schools. “DeSoto ISD thrives because of their compassion and hard work. They work long hours, care deeply about the students and their staff, and balance the district and state expectations with their own campus goals for success. I know the commitment it takes – the students and school become your life. I join Governor Abbott in recognizing these outstanding professionals.”
DeSoto ISD will formally recognize all campus principals at a special dinner before the October 12 Board Meeting. In addition, DeSoto ISD holds its annual Principal for a Day event on October 19, when local civic and business leaders are invited to come shadow one of the 12 district principals for the day.
We call on the community – parents, staff and students – to celebrate their principal:
• Write a thank you to your principal
• Set up a place where students can make thank you cards
• Put up a banner at the school that students can sign
• Provide simple treats – favorite candy, soda or snack
• Ask a restaurant/store to donate a gift card
• Have the PTA host a breakfast or luncheon for principals
Thank you to each of our DeSoto ISD Principals:
• Emory Price, Amber Terrace Discovery & Design Early Childhood Academy
• Arista Owens-McGowan, Cockrell Hill Elementary
• Shana Hawthorne, The Meadows Elementary
• Wesley Pittman, Frank D. Moates Elementary
• Brandon Ward, Northside Elementary
• Robert Torres, Woodridge Elementary
• Bobby Sims, Ruby Young Elementary
• Donna Blackburn, East Middle School
• Nicholas Johnson, Curtistene S. McCowan Middle School
• Reggie Lewis, West Middle School
• Dr. Thurston Lamb, DeSoto High School
• Homer Webb, III, DAEP/WINGS Alternative Schools