DeSoto Calls Special Election


A Special Election has been called to fill an unexpired term for Place 4 on the DeSoto City Council.

DESOTO, TX – City Councilmember, Deshaundra Lockhart Jones tendered her resignation from Place 4 on the DeSoto City Council during their regular meeting on December 4, 2012. Her resignation is the result of her recent marriage to Reginald Jones and her decision to move out of District 4. The DeSoto City Charter requires that all City Council members reside in the district they represent. As a result, a Special Election has been called for February 16, 2013 to fill her unexpired term.
Persons interested in becoming a candidate for Place 4 can request a Candidate Guide from the City of DeSoto website at or by calling the City Secretary’s office at 972.230-9646. Candidate filings will continue through January 7, 2012. The first day of Early Voting is January 30, 2013.

City Council Election Information

Members of the City Council shall run for office by place, elected “at large” by the qualified voters of the entire City and shall reside in correspondingly-numbered geographical districts of the City established by Ordinance based on equality of population. Candidates shall have resided within the district to which they seek election for at least one (1) year next preceding the election at which they are candidates, and must, if elected, continuously reside within the district during the person’s term of office.
A candidate for Mayor may be a resident of any district of the City and shall be elected at large by the voters of the entire City and must also remain a resident within the City limits of DeSoto throughout their elected term.
Mayor and Councilmembers shall be elected for terms of three (3) years and shall serve until their successors are duly elected and qualified.

For more information on please contact, Kisha Morris, DeSoto Interim City Secretary at 972.230.9646.