Cedar Hill Calls Special Election

cedar hill candidates

Councilman Spillman’s resignation leaves City Council Place 1 vacant. Special Election called sees three candidates to run for Place 1’s remaining term.

CEDAR HILL, TX – The City of Cedar hill will hold a Special Election on January 19th, 2013, to fill the vacancy on the City Council created when Cory Spillman resigned his position in Place 1. Mr. Spillman works for Hunt Oil Company as a Gas Marketing Representative, and his company has transferred him to Peru.
A married father of two small children, Mr. Spillman and his wife Whitney are members of the First United Methodist Church of Cedar Hill. Mr. Spillman is the Mayor Pro Tem and has served on the council since 2001. Mr. Spillman serves in the Place 1 seat on the council.
All Cedar hill City Council members are elected at large. All Citizens can vote for all Places on the Council, as well as the Mayor. However, there are residency requirements for four of the Places on the Council.
Candidates for Mayor and City Council positions Place One and Place Four may reside in any precinct within the corporate city limits of the City of Cedar Hill.
Candidates for City Council positions Place Two and Place Three must reside in Cedar Hill, west of Highway 67 in Dallas County.
Candidates for City Council positions Place Five and Place Six must reside in Cedar Hill, east of Highway 67 in Dallas County and all the area of the City located in Ellis County.
Three Cedar Hill residents have filed to run for Mr. Spillman’s vacant seat. They are Joanette, Manning, Jeremiah Garlock, and Jami McCain. Elsewhere in this paper we have a short list of questions for all three candidates, along with their responses.
As usual, The Suburban Newspaper encourages all registered voters to participate in our democratic form of government and exercise your right to vote. There is still time to educate yourself on all the issues and candidates involved so that you may make an informed choice

Applications for ballot by mail shall be mailed to:

Toni Pippins-Poole
Elections Administrator
Dallas County Elections Department – 8th Floor
Suite 820
2377 N. Stemmons Freeway
Dallas Texas 75207

Instructions and deadline information will be included with your ballot.

Early Voting
Early voting will be conducted in the Cedar Hill Government Center at 285 Uptown Village on the first floor. It begins Wednesday, January 2, 2013 and continues through Tuesday, January 14, 2013 as follows:

January 2 – 4
(Wed. through Fri.) from 8 am to 5 pm
January 7 – 11
(Mon. through Fri.) from 8 am to 5 pm
January 12
(Saturday) from 8 am to 5 pm
January 13
(Sunday) from 1 pm to 6 pm
January 14 – 15
(Mon. & Tues.) from 7 am to 7 pm